FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 04, Episode 03 – Football in a Field

Hi! My name is Pierran Shearer. I am not related to Alan but he has inspired me to start a career in football management. This is my Football Manager story. I’m 28 years old and used to teach PE in a school in Cornwall.

If you haven’t caught up with the save so far, go back and read from the beginning here

Expectations

I met the players for the first time shortly after arriving in Romania. They were please with the expectations that I set out for them.

They seemed motivated and morale was good. The promise of Dominos pizza for winning competitions was a good start because they didn’t rate me as a manager! My experience was a lot less than some of them had hoped for. That’s why I went for motivating them with pizza. Afterall, I am a motivator!

The team are indifferent towards me. There are only a couple of players who support me.

July – December

The early parts of the season were a success. We started with an unbeaten month, earning the first manager of the month award.

It was also early on in the season that a decent goalkeeper had recently been relegated to the second division playing for U Cluj. He wanted out so I gave him the opportunity. I made an offer and he will join us as the best goalkeeper in the top league. He’s also only 22 so lots of room to improve!

He will replace club legend and player with the most appearance for us. At 35 years old, it’s a case of claiming on the insurance as “old for new”!

The league is a bit of a fascinating one. All the teams are professional but we will be going from playing in a field in the countryside to playing in a proper 40,000 seater stadium! How fun! As long as the farmer agrees that the game goes ahead. That reminds me, I need to call him to book the field.

To summarise, we’ve had an amazing start to the season. Only one defeat in the 14 games sees us finish the year top of the table with Viitorul Constanta one point behind us. It’s tight, especially as we haven’t really slipped up yet!

January – April

The back end of the season saw only 1 more defeat. Mostly wins but we managed to wrap up the league with a few games to go. Except this wasn’t the end of the season! Not yet! But more on that later.

We made a few more signings in January. Mohamed Sebbar being one of them. He’s a superstar striker with AMAZING leadership qualities. And because we got rid of our vice-captain, I made this guy 2nd in command straight away!

With stats like this, he’ll be a leader one day. I just need to get rid of my current captain because he does NOT want to be removed as current captain.

Youth Candidates

With the club being only average in the youth recruitment, I wasn’t expecting much from the new crop of wonderkids. There is potential there but I won’t be holding hope that many make it to the first team… I got on the phone to the board and asked for some more money to be thrown at the youngsters. And they agree! How nice of them!

But given that my current starting eleven contain very young players in the defensive areas, I will just continue to buy the wonderkids and hope that they become homegrown to qualify with various registrations rules.

Championship Playoff

Once the 30 league games have been played the league splits in half. The top 6 teams (that’s us) would play in a playoff series where we play each other twice more to see who wins the league.

For this series, we start we half the number of points that we acquired in the initial stage. This puts us two points ahead. And with the Cupa Romaniei Semi Final legs to play too, it would be a busy few months for us!

But that is to come next time. Our record with post-season competitions has not been good. Our playoff performances haven’t been great so far in my career. But I’m determined to change that. Perhaps a little pizza motivation is required??

Please come back and find out what happens next

One thought on “FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 04, Episode 03 – Football in a Field

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑