FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 04, Episode 01 – James Hunt

Hi! My name is Pierran Shearer. I am not related to Alan but he has inspired me to start a career in football management. This is my Football Manager story. I’m 28 years old and used to teach PE in a school in Cornwall.

If you haven’t caught up with the save so far, go back and read from the beginning here

Good-Bye Charlotte

Leaving Charlotte was more upsetting than I had thought. I arrived seven (yes 7!) years ago to a shy little girl. Nobody was there except my, now only, friend; Shalom Dutey. He has since retired from the world of football and opened his own nightclub.

Another of my friends at Charlotte was Marco GarcĂ­a – the legendary striker who scored 15 goals in 18 matches for Charlotte 2 before he was stolen by Canamy to play in Mexico. His record hasn’t been great scoring only a handful of times each season. It was a shame as I felt he has a promising future!

That shy little girl blossomed into a beautiful flower. Along with the rest of the family! But this is getting weird now. So let’s see what happened after we left!

The Hunt

Just like the late Forumla 1 legend, the job hunt was full of unexpected turns! Also like Hunt, there was smoking, drinking and girls! Only joking. Only job interviews. But that’s less boring. So let’s pretend we picked a fight with Nicki Lauda instead!

I was delighted to hear than upon my departure from Charlotte FC, Steve Coleman and Jonathan Woodgate has also left.

Until I got wind that Toronto FC were interested in me. But looking back at their list of managers, they tended to only employ managers on very VERY short contracts! 58 days, 35 days. One only last 34 days! That wasn’t even an interim manager position! That was a actual manager of the club! I hope they don’t ask for me to join them!!

I had some varied interviews at some pretty bit clubs in the end! Little old me who did a decent job at Charlotte FC in the MLS was starting to get interviews at some big clubs! The only problem was the number of rejections. Brentford, Braga, CSKA Moscow, Lyon, even Tottenham offered me an interview!

But none of it was working! I needed to change my view point in the interviews. I was going from the humble quiet manager to the Brian Clough, I’m certainly in the top one, attitude. Arrogance was going to get me a job.

The next interview was to a small club in Romania. CS Craiova. They’d last won the league in 2020/2021 – 7 years ago – but had fallen to a club that accepted 3rd or 4th. Sometime snatching a 2nd place but not winning. Several embarrassing cup exits and very limited European competition performances meant they needed a bit of motivation. I saw myself as that man!

I told them I would be the best manager they’d ever seen. I promised to win the lot! I promised success, I promised them growth, I damn well promised European football! Not just a qualifier but actual European football! Had I gone too far? Probably. But it worked!

I was offered the job. I am currently writing this at Charlotte international airport waiting for my flight to Romania. This is a country I had always wanted to manage in. Here was my chance! Bring it on!

Please come back and find out what happens next

One thought on “FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 04, Episode 01 – James Hunt

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑