FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 03, Episode 01 – Charlotte’s Naughty Older Sister

Hi! My name is Pierran Shearer. I am not related to Alan but he has inspired me to start a career in football management. This is my Football Manager story. I’m 28 years old and used to teach PE in a school in Cornwall.

A slightly different format of the story today. Let me know if you prefer it.

If you haven’t caught up with the save so far, go back and read from the beginning here

Charlotte’s Naughty Older Sister

Close your eyes for a moment. Actually, don’t. Because then you can read this. Picture this in your mind’s eye: you’re at your mate’s house playing on the PS1. You’ve had a hard final day at school and are kicking back, relaxing, playing some FIFA. You’ve made it to half term. You’ve got no worries in the world! Then the hottest girl you’ve ever seen walks in to your friend’s bedroom. So hot that you need to borrow a pillow to put over your lap!

You ask your best mate who she was. He doesn’t even look up from the screen and tell you that she is his older sister who has come back from university for the holidays. What’s her name, you wonder? Well, it’s Charlotte! The naughty older sister you didn’t know existed!

Back To Reality

So yes. After loads of interviews, I was offered a job in a little town called… Charlotte! Little had I known, there was a much bigger team than us in Charlotte. I’m not talking about Charlotte Independence. I’m talking about Charlotte FC! Who joined the MLS in 2022! How did I not know!

I pretended I did as they offered me the job and, because I can only say YES, I took the job. I was moving back to Charlotte. But who were they?

Well, they can’t be that big of a team, given I had no idea they were our noisy neighbours. Ok they were worth £157 million pounds. So they were very noisy neighbours. I must have been looking the wrong way…

They can’t have had a big stadium or I’d have seen it, right? Ok, they used the local NFL stadium. It wasn’t that big. Only had a 74,113 capacity! You could have seen it from space! How did I not know!

They were a new club to the league only having started in 2022. So their performances were not good. Finishing bottom or near bottom every single season. Do their defenders can’t be very good then? Well that’s where I am wrong – again!

For some strange reason, the club seem to have a policy of ONLY signing right sided defenders! I arrived at the club and there were six. SIX right back! I think I’ve found where I need to start in the culling of the team! It seems any opposition who played the ball down our left flank would have no defenders to beat! Something to sort, straight away!

Perhaps a bit of a job on my hands? Maybe one that I can’t fail at, given the board are only interested in me not finishing last. As long as I win a few games, I’ll be fine, right?

Give me a chance to work some magic in the off season, and come back and watch me attempt to not finish last! Oh and try to understand the MLS rules. I’ve got a plan for that one!

Please come back and find out what happens next

One thought on “FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 03, Episode 01 – Charlotte’s Naughty Older Sister

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑