FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 05, Episode 12 – Takeover

Hi! My name is Pierran Shearer. I am not related to Alan but he has inspired me to start a career in football management. This is my Football Manager story. I’m 28 years old and used to teach PE in a school in Cornwall.

If you haven’t caught up with the save so far, go back and read from the beginning here

Takeover

The time has come. We’ve been at Lazio for a while. In fact, we’re about to start our fourth season. When you’re at a club for long enough, you expect the board to move on at some point. Now, I’ve been lucky enough to get on with the board and we’ve built quite a club here. Facilities are amazing and, honestly, the only thing that could make this place better would be a new, purpose built stadium so we don’t have to share with Roma.

But with any takeover, there is uncertainty as to what they’ll want to change. Sometime, they want to change the manager! But this consortium seem to want to keep me and continue to invest in the club promising a £70 million investment. Tastey! Also, buying the club for £354 million when it’s valued at almost a billion is a bargain! Especially as I intent to improve further!

The negotiations were swift and the consortium took over. I kept my job but there was no further investment. In fact, the opposite would happen…

WHAT?! They were signing new players behind my back?! Who were they? How much are they planning on paying?! I needed to look into this further.

OVER 200 MILLION POUNDS! That’s how much they would cost together! And players that I had no interest in signing, didn’t fit my system and WOULD TAKE ALL MY HARD EARNED MONEY! Thankfully I sent an email on behalf of the board cancelling the transfers. Phew! We can’t afford these players…

Transfers

This transfer window would be another one where I have to be clever to keep hold of Serbian striker Popovic. With the best teams in the world sniffing around our top players, I’m flattered that they thing they’re that good but losing them would be something I could not afford. Not yet…

New signings this season included younger players who I thought would improve. BenjamĂ­n was our biggest signing at £44.5 million would be some competition for current winger Webb. And still a teenager, BenjamĂ­n will hopefully take over from Webb when he gets older.

Another decent player was Sean Kelleher. We sold our latest DL for a lot of money and I needed someone fairly decent while we wait for Cabrera to mature as he is only 17 years old. And at under £6 million, Kelleher seems to be a bargain! Profit to be made there, for sure!

The Competitions

Another busy season lay ahead with four top competitions to compete for. For the first time, I really felt that they were ALL winnable. The board agreed but gave us a target for Quarter Finals for the Champions League.

Champions League Draw

Once again we come face to face against Zidane’s daft press conferences and Real Madrid. I’m getting fed up with losing to him and when we do, I’ll be so happy! Each year we improve so it’s getting closer and closer!

The other teams in the group are Borussia Monchengladbach (I’m not looking forward to typing that one out many many times)

The final team is Red Bull Salzburg. I feel not finishing at least second will be a disappointment but finishing top will mean beating Real Madrid. That’s the bit I’m less sure about.

So there we have it. Pre season complete, we’re ready to go. I feel Lazio are now a great side so that aspect of this mission is complete. We’ve made Lazio great again. So why keep going? Isn’t it obvious? I have developed an obsession with beating Zidane! So bring it on you bald headed French Man!

Please come back and find out what happens next

One thought on “FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 05, Episode 12 – Takeover

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑