FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 05, Episode 11 – Headbutting Zidane

Hi! My name is Pierran Shearer. I am not related to Alan but he has inspired me to start a career in football management. This is my Football Manager story. I’m 28 years old and used to teach PE in a school in Cornwall.

If you haven’t caught up with the save so far, go back and read from the beginning here

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-47.png

Serie A

Last time out, we’d just beaten Juventus in the Supercup Final to win yet another Coca-Cola trophy. It’s a second one in two years and by now, we starting to need to go to the dentist a lot more! I think the sugar in the drinks is a bit too much. The dentist is a Lazio fan so it giving me and the team a decent rate.

I do think I need to contact the Italian FA so ask about renaming it. I’m not sure Coca-Cola will be too happy but to please them, why can’t they call it the Diet Coca-Cola cup? Or the Coke Zero cup? Surely better than the full fat stuff, right?

We also navigated a challenging group Champions League group with Bayern Munchen, Manchester United and Genk and eve managed to finish top of the group!

The First Knockout Round was draw and it’s looking like we’re keeping the challenging matches going a bit longer! We draw AtlĂ©tico de Madrid! Another difficult game for us but I suppose to win the competition, you have to beat the very best. So I suppose we’re going to have to play them eventually, right?

Coppa Italia Fanta

We also played the Coppa Italia Fantas matches in January and February to get them out the way so we’re able to concentrate on the league. We beat Cagliari, Roma (that was a fun one beating them 8-4) and Atalanta in the Semi Finals.

This run of great goal scoring form meant we would mean Juventus in the Final. It seems we’ll be competing against Juventus for all the cup this season!

Can we repeat the Coca-Cola cup results and collect a Fizzy Drink Double? We’ll find out at the end of the season.

January – March 2033

January to March we played most of the remainder of the season. Our form continued and despite a freak 0-1 loss to Torino, we managed to remain unbeaten across all competitions. Including the First knockout round of the Champions League beating AtlĂ©tico de Madrid 4-3 in a tight couple of games. This set up for one of the most challenging months of football I’ve ever seen!

One that could make or break our season, we had to compete in the League against Milan and Juventus, we drew Inter in the Champions League Quarter Final so will play them twice and we also have a Coppa Italia Final against Juventus! ALSO beating Inter would mean we have a Semi-Final game against either Chelsea or Real Madrid towards the end of the month. WHAAT! Get me out of here!

We’re going to have to rotate the squad to ensure we have the very best players available for the cup games. I think we can concentrate on those given our gap at the top of the table.

– A month later –

Phew! What a month it has been! Here’s what happened! The league games were a mix. Beating Milan, Fiorentina, Frosione and Benevento but losing to Juventus. We beat Inter in the Champions League game over two leg 5-1 which was great but then came up against Real Madrid. The biggest upset was losing to Juventus in the Cup final but that’s not surprising! We also lost 0-4 to Real Madrid in the Champions League game. So that looks like we’re out of that one too!

Over all a disappointing month! To be knocked out of two cups at this stage is heart-breaking! I’ll need to pick the boys up a bit because that Juventus loss means they are closer than I wanted!

But it comes down to this: Us against Juventus. Two of the three games have been played so. We beat Frosinone and Benevento so it came down to Juventus and their game against Fiorentina. If the didn’t win, we’d have the league back with us. Their result?

It was never in doubt, right?! Juventus bottle it against Fiorentina and we’re back to being the best in Italy. Thank you very much! And with two games remaining we can turn our attention to the second leg Champions League game against Real Madrid. But surely that one is already decided right??

Champions League

This was another one of those moments where you just sit back and admire this game and how amazing it is! We needed at least 4 goals to stand a chance of qualifying for the Final. And after 35 minutes we’d scored THREE goals!

So one more before half time and I actually would start to believe we could do it!

Half time came and went. I made my team talk and then left it to the players to continue their job.

GOOOOAL!!! The 51st minute came and we have the ball in the back of the net! It’s 4-4! Until I look at the referee. He has his hand to his ear. A short moment passed which felt like an age and then the referee gestured offside. NOO! VAR has done us proper there! David has been denyed an equaliser!

And what’s worse? Shortly after that, Real Madrid earn a penalty. BUT THEY MISSED! It’s still on!

The remining minutes ticked by. We got closer and closer to the final whistle with chances for both teams. In the end it wasn’t enough. The match finished 3-0 to us and we ended one goal short. Such a shame! A performance worthy of a Liverpool/Barcelona come back, I felt, but it wasn’t meant to be. But still an improvement on last season so that’s good, right?

It was until Zidane was questions in the press conference afterward. He was asked if he was shocked with the result. His response was this:

“I have to admit I was hoping my praise for Shearer before the match might just lead to a bit of complacency from his side and I’m delighted that that’s proven to be the case”

Zidane

Excuse me, mate! I smashed your side 3-0! We almost had a fourth so you can shut your mouth! Wait until next season, we’ll smash you! I can’t promise that I won’t give him one of his trademark headbutts!

And that’s what will have to happen. Next season I hope to build on the successes of this season and go for a treble. But I’ll leave you with the season highlights as usual. Enjoy!

Please come back and find out what happens next

One thought on “FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 05, Episode 11 – Headbutting Zidane

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑