FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 01, Episode 04 – Playoff Curse

Hi! My name is Pierran Shearer. I am not related to Alan but he has inspired me to start a career in football management. This is my Football Manager story. I’m 28 years old and used to teach PE in a school in Cornwall.

Recruitment

Due to the success of last season, some people have actually heard of us. They also want to join us so I’ve managed to actually build a squad now. Again, the coaches compare the lads to the first team so they aren’t rated highly but we are in a much lower division. We tried to replace Marco GarĂ­a with somebody called Michael O’Shea. He’s from Ireland and drinks a bit too much. Not Guinness. He prefers pina coladas. Strange!

The League

The improvements to the squad have made a real different to the predictions. The news papers are suggesting we will finish second this year. Behind Dalton somebodies.

March

We kicked off the new season in style with 3 wins from 3 including a decent 5-1 victory over Tormenta FC 2. We were offered a guy called Cory Lopez-Espin fromou Big Sister Charlotte. He will play for us periodically and what a player he is! He scored 4 goals in his first game and 5 over all. He’s my new favourite player!

I also asked for more coaching badges but the board are worried that a bigger club will come to make me manage them. The board don’t know that I’ve already agreed to join them, whoever they are!

April

Two games played in April and a disappointing draw against midtable Asheville City. We almost lost it but LĂ³pez got a late equaliser to even things up. To make up for it we won 7-0 against league favourite Dalton Red Wolves. Take that! It might, also, have something to do with Lopez-Espin being back in the squad!

May

We continue dominating in May scoring 11 goals and conceding once in the three games. The fact that there are 7 different scorers suggests that the goals can come from everywhere! That’s useful for when Lopez-Espin is recalled to play for Big Sister Charlotte.

With us being unbeaten, the league table is looking good. League favourite Dalton Red Wolves find themselves 1 point from the bottom of the table and we are comfortably looking down on the rest of the teams from first place. 5 points clear too which is brilliant as we are half way through the season.

June

Another 2 games in June and another two green circles to say we won. We’ve been a bit leaky at the back. Like a bucket full of holes but no bother as we more than make up for it with the goals we score. More from Lopez-Espin’s replacement Darnell Mintus who is catching up to being leading goalscorer.

Adding these results to the league table, we remain top – obviously – but move further ahead and now are 9 points clear with 6 games to play.

July

Two more games in July. Four points gained and another step closer to winning the league. Asheville City seem to be a little bit of a challenge. Like the Wolves to the Manchester United. Lopez-Espin also wasn’t available for the goals so it finished 0-0.

Despite this we remain 9 points clear at the top of the league to Charlotte Eagles. They’re not a relation to us but more like finding a stranger with the same name as you. Notice they don’t have any numbers in their name! Losers!

September

Not an exciting month as we beat league favourite who are rubbish 1-0. A first minute goal then I think the players decided to just play Uno for the rest of the match. Another 3 points and a step closer to winning.

October and November

With three games remaining and 9 points clear we needed a draw against Southern Soccer Academy to secure the league title. And that’s exactly what we go. Champions again but it doesn’t mean anything as there are playoffs to do! And we were rubbish at that last time! Let’s at least get past the first round of that!

Playoffs

The first round of the playoffs would be against Des Moines Menace SC. Again, nor have I. I’ll send the scouts to check them out and see what they come back with. Unfortunately, they came back with nothing because they went to the wrong stadium. I now have a full scout report for Peachtree City instead! Useless scouts!

Despite this, we won the first leg 4-1 at home. Boscolo with all four goals so I gave him a couple of Kitkats as a reward. He was happy with that.

Then came the second leg. This was not a very good one. We were 0-2 down after 23 minutes and at half time I was worried. But the lads fought hard at the start of the second half. Despite this, Des Moines Menace score again making it 4-4 overall after 71 minutes! I couldn’t believe it!

Then the 80th minute happened. They scored again. then another 10 minutes happened and we were out! Again! There is some sort of playoff curse here! Or the US leagues hate me! I’ve never been able to win anything here. Even when I played Football Manager on the computer I never won anything!

Oh well. After the game I went to the board to ask for a new coaching badge. They said no but I explained that if I had another one, I might have won the playoff game. So they said yes.

And with that we look ahead to next season. Improvements to the squad need to be made but I think we have a goo bunch of guys here. I’m hopeful for next season! Oh and in case you didn’t notice, we won all of our league games. So I’m counting it as unbeaten!

Please come back and find out what happens next

3 thoughts on “FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 01, Episode 04 – Playoff Curse

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑