Twitter Save – Brixham AFC

If you’ve been following on Twitter, you know that I have been sharing my journey through life at Brixham AFC. I wanted to do a Non-League to Legend save similar to one I started last year but knew I didn’t have the time available to blog about it properly. I loved all the silly little bits that went in to it like renting the garden at Ann’s Pastys shop opposite the pitch (I won’t say stadium because it just wasn’t).

This time round, I didn’t want to do a REALLY low league save because by the time I get anywhere with it, FM25 will be released. At the same time I wanted a challenge and a chance to get a few quick promotions in before things got hard.

Brixham AFC

1

Brixham are a relatively new club having combined Brixham Villa with Brixham United to create Brixham AFC. They are known as the Fishermen and play in the South West Peninsula League Division One East or as I’m going to shorten it: SWPLD1E. Coincidentally, that is also my car number plate.

They play their home games at Wall Park which looks like this:

2

Only joking. It actually looks like this:

They’ve even got nets behind the goals. They have that sort of thing at Borussia Dortmund in Germany. They don’t even have that at the new Tottenham Stadium!

 

The Team

I can’t really get a team list online except that I should be including someone called Scotty Robinson. Not sure who he is but I do need to sign him.

When I inherited the squad, there was nobody here. I had to sign anyone who was available. That squad has changed a bit since then and here is my current team.

6

A few of them have been around since the first season. Kyron Tolland, Rhys Talamash, Jack Turner and the legend Jack Calver.

Jack is my favourite player in this save by far. He was almost released after the first game and he received a red card 5 minutes in to it. He then got another one a few games later but since then, I forgave him and he’s turned out to be amazing!

87

Here is my overall best 11. If you’re doing a lower league save then these are the best players for this level.

9

 

The Leagues

I won’t go in to too much detail about the leagues. It can be done quickly to say that early on, the other teams were all greyed out players and it took a few season for them to sign players they liked. We took advantage of this by winning the league twice. In the Western Premier League we finished 2nd behind Plymouth U21s who just use first team players to get match fitness. There was no way we’d beat them again. This still meant promotion though.

This momentum and confidence took up to the playoffs of the Southern League Division One South (or SLD1S) which we won. Pre-season predictions had us relegated that season.

Our momentum ran out the following season where we finished bottom with a team that should have been mid table in the division below. The relegation will allow us to regroup, improve and I’m hoping for us to be in the top half of the table the follow season.

It isn’t meant to be and we’re finding things difficult. I’ve changed tactics a few times and taken over scouting as we are finding nobody that will improve our team.

Here is where we currently are. 4 points above relegation.

15

Next Steps

This save is quite a big one in terms of what I want to achieve. There are several targets that I need to reach and I will be ticking each one off as I get to them. The first was to achieve promotion which we did. The next one which has taken a long time is to reach the National League South. After that, the Premier League!16.PNG

 

In case you don’t know, I am a blogger who writes for #FMCreators. Please take a moment to head over there and check out all the other content creators across various platforms.

3 thoughts on “Twitter Save – Brixham AFC

Add yours

  1. Greetings!
    What amazing season stats for Jack Calver!
    Can I ask what tactic did you use and what position/player role/duty has he been playing on?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used a 4-3-3 narrow. All strikers were poachers. MC was central midfielder. Other MCs were Carrliero. I played him in the centre of midfield. Hes slowing down now and only 3 stars. But still performing and getting good ratings.

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑