16 – FM19 – There And Back Again – Aspirations Met

What? Again?

CD Lugo

I was enjoying life in Spain but it was my aim to manage in the MLS. I did try for a few jobs there before joining Lugo but I wasn’t qualified enough. They wanted more experience. I joined Lugo, helped them to a record finish in La Liga and now some MLS teams wanted me…

In the end, I decided to join Seattle Sounders. They were struggling near the bottom of the table and I thought I could help them return to the top after winning the league a number of seasons ago.

Seattle Sounders

I joined the MLS team Seattle Sounders in 11th place out of 12. I was aware of the very strict rules and made a spreadsheet to help me understand what I was doing. This isn’t a guide on the MLS so I won’t go in to details (mainly because I still don’t understand them!).

1

The Team

The team I started with wasn’t great. I didn’t make any signings in the first half and accidentally deleted the screen shot of my team when I arrived. They were rubbish though and the main reason I didn’t sign anyone was because I couldn’t get them registered without breaking one of the million rules the MLS has.

The Stadium

This one is exciting.

2

The stadium in huge! 68,000 seats and there is no was we’re going to fill it! At least we’ve got something to grow in to.

Aims

My aims for being in the MLS is the understand the rules, work out how the drafts work and how I can buy a player from another MLS team without being ripped off with the draft allocation , general monies, and everything else that goes with being in the MLS.

My aims were to reach the MLS which is where I am now. I’m not sure what I’d do afterwards. It would be random really so perhaps this is where this series will end?

Join me next time to see how we did in the MLS.

One thought on “16 – FM19 – There And Back Again – Aspirations Met

Add yours

  1. The MLS is a mind boggling experience, but once you get your head around it it’s fun, just remember you can only have 3 designated player contracts, 7 international player contracts and to get more you have to trade with other MLS teams. Good luck.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑