FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 05, Episode 05 – In The Bin

Hi! My name is Pierran Shearer. I am not related to Alan but he has inspired me to start a career in football management. This is my Football Manager story. I’m 28 years old and used to teach PE in a school in Cornwall.

If you haven’t caught up with the save so far, go back and read from the beginning here

Europa Conference Recap

A little recap to remember what has happened during the Europa Conference League so far. Back at the beginning of the season, we beat Bohemian over two legs and celebrated in the Guinness factory. The away leg was disappointing but we won overall.

That success meant we entered the group stage with Augsburg, Boavista and Tobol Kostanany as opponents.

The teams weren’t that difficult to beat and we ended up topping the group. There were a few slip ups losing to Boavista but other than that we topped the group and would skip the first knockout round and progress straight to the second knockout round.

This is where we got to last time so I will continue the story from here.

Second Knockout Round

A little trip to snowy Moscow was in order for the second knockout round before inviting the crazy Russian back to our place for a Vodka drinking competition with a little bit of football thrown in too.

Winning both games with an aggregate score of 5-1 saw us progress to the Quarter-Finals.

I was taught the correct way of drinking vodka by their manager. He was a nice man but the following morning I couldn’t remember a thing! I also think he stole my wallet when I passed out which wasn’t nice…

Quarter Final

The quarter-final would be against Marseille. My team in France, thanks to a little game called Football Manager. You might have heard of it. Back in 2010/11 I played as them and had a lovely time!

Another aggregate win of 6-3 but a disappointing home draw cast doubt over our chances of winning the whole competition. But making it to the Semi-Final was a decent run. The board do want to reach the final so let’s see if that’s possible.

Semi-Final

The semi final opponents were a youth team called Young Boys. Should be easy, right, given that the team are just young boys. They have reach this far though so they can’t be that bad?!

It turns out that the youth team were quite good! The first leg was a 0-0 draw and the second leg turned out to be closer than expected too! We scraped through with a 2-1 win meaning we’ve reached the final

The Final

Tottenham sacked Mourinho a long time ago! I don’t think he lasted much longer than a year at the job and since them they’ve tried with the likes of Sarri, FC Kobenhavn’s Solbakken, Monaco’s Kovac and current manager, smug looking Thomas Tuchel who left the PSG job to lose at Tottenham.

I’d love to win this one. To show we really are a force of Italian muscle. A nice double would be decent in the first year at Lazio, wouldn’t it?!

So we set off attacking, as always. But in the most boring of finals since the Liverpool Tottenham Champions League Final, nothing happens. No highlights at all in 90 minutes. I’d ask for a refund of the ticket! And as it’s in Scotland, we’ve got a long trip home for our fans.

But in extra time. The 106th minute Linguist Sergio Fonte scores! I can’t tell you what happened in the lead up to it as I was actually asleep. The assistant managed to wake me up as the camera turned to see my reaction and I jumped up celebrating!

This turned out to be the only highlight in the game and we won. A double! Excellent work!

Signing Off

It’s been a bit of an epic year for us at Lazio. I’m hopeful of building on the squad we’ve created and have a good run in the Champions League and win the Serie A again next year.

I’ll leave you with some highlights of the season and how the new boys got one. Spolier: EVERYONE has performed incredibly!

Just as I was closing up the club for the summer, I met with the players to discuss next season. I shared my thoughts and plans of winning the league again and giving the Champions League a good go. All players were happy except one: The backup goalkeeper.

He’s the only one who doesn’t think we’re good enough to do it! Ironic that he is also the one who cost us the Coppa Italia letting 5 goals in against Inter and generally not trained well all season. He’s been a ball-ache all year moaning about everything. So it leaves me no choice but to throw him in the bin. I think Liverpool have since pulled him out and given him a contract! Good luck to him! I hope he’s got a big coat because he’ll be sat on the bench all season!

Please come back and find out what happens next

One thought on “FM21 – Yes Man! – Club 05, Episode 05 – In The Bin

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑